Pigeons Off Roscoe.

My daily drive on the 405 is usually nothing to write home about, although it does give me time to listen to NPR/KCRW or my favorite music. Another good option is audiobooks. Yet, most of the time, no matter what I’m doing or listening to, I simply reflect on the world that passes by and what part I play in this thing we call life.

One day while traveling northbound through the valley, right after the Anheuser-Busch Brewery, I casually looked over to the southbound lanes and saw a flight of pigeons speeding by the shoulder. Against a green of valley freeway foliage, at one point each and every one of them had their wings in open, upright position, exposing their grey undersides. The contrast and coincidence struck me somehow, and the image has been embedded in my brain since. So this morning I decided to draw it. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

